RSS

Do I need to explain?

10 Jul

Four days into my 30-day challenge, and I missed a day. I’m not going to beat myself up, though, and while I know I don’t have to explain why I missed a day, I want to explain.

It was Sunday, and I had no where to be until lunchtime, so I did not set my alarm. When I did get up, I drank coffee, savored a delicious breakfast, and played with my dogs. After I finally showered and got dressed, I picked up a couple salads at Panera and brought them over to a friend’s house. She and her husband moved back to Richmond three years ago, and while we’ve gotten together countless times, I’d never seen their house. We spent most of the afternoon talking and playing with her furbabies. When I got home, I threw together a casserole, loaded the dogs into the Outback, and we headed over to Mom’s for dinner. After dinner, we took a walk outside around her place and enjoyed the beautiful flowers and ponds and chatted with some of her neighbors. It was after sunset when we got back to her place. We chatted some more before I loaded the dogs back into the Outback and came home.

Several times during the day, including when I first woke up, I thought I need to find time to blog today so I don’t mess up my challenge. But as the day wore on, I realized that what I was finding time to do was much more important that making myself sit down with my laptop and think of something interesting to write. Yes, I accepted a challenge. And yes, I fell short. But my greater challenge is to live this life well and leave a positive mark on the world, and yesterday I think I met that challenge.

I love this post by Carrie Newcomer — Impossible Things Just Take A Little Longer. I used to read it every day to remind myself to slow down and savor life. Ironically, I got busy and stopped reading it every day, but I think about it often. To borrow Carrie’s words, yesterday I asked the question “What do I love deeply and truly,” and followed that thread.   

Carrie Newcomer

This was the image that appeared with Carrie’s blog when I first read it. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 10, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Do I need to explain?

  1. Gail G. Even

    July 10, 2017 at 7:45 pm

    Happy to have been one of the balloons lifting the dog yesterday.
    Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
