RSS

Whoa, Nelly!

20 Jan

My goal for this course is to take what I have learned in the two previous Teaching and Learning with Technology courses, as well as in the Design and Delivery course (ADLT 606), and gain a hands-on, practical understanding of how instructional design differs for eLearning versus face-to-face or classroom based learning.  The coursework as it was outlined in our first class appears to address a multitude of topics that affect instructional design, and the four outside project presentations offer a variety of subject matter.  However, the presentations seem to favor learning in academic settings versus corporate settings.  While we did have a brief discussion of training versus education (which I took as corporate versus academic), I realize that I am the only one in the class who works in a corporate environment as well as the only one whose current role is not related to teaching, and so my needs and interests are different.  To the extent that there is any material difference in how the ideas we will discuss are implemented in the different settings, I hope we are able to address it.

The ADDIE model was mentioned a fair amount during class, and I wonder if there will be any discussion of other models, such as SAM (Successive Approximation Model) that seems to have gained a fair amount of traction, at least in the corporate learning environment.  While I recognize that ADDIE does not have to be as linear at it might first appear, SAM seems to offer a more inclusive and collaborative approach and builds in iterative processes which makes it feel more nimble for the mad pace we all seem to keep these days.

As for the question of what I hope to be able to do with instructional design skills once the course is completed, I come back to a recurring theme in my blog — the similarities between adult eduction and marketing.  As stated in the syllabus for this course:

Creation of successful e-learning requires skills in designing interactive environments that engage and stimulate as well as provide a sense of community among learners and between learners and the teacher or facilitator. This is much more than the electronic linking of documents and resources.

In much the same way, marketers are seeking to create interactive environments that create a sense of community to enhance brand loyalty, but it involves much more than simply creating a website, getting people to “like” you on Facebook, or having a large following on Twitter.  We, as marketers, need to understand what people really want from a product or service and how they intend to use it (much the same way we’ve been asked to write about what we expect from this course and how we intend to use it).  Whether it’s the ADDIE model, SAM, or the Interactive Model of Program Planning, there are many similarities between the stages of instructional design and marketing planning.  So whether I continue to work in a marketing capacity or finally make the leap to adult education, what I learn in this course about when and how to use digital tools effectively to accomplish my goals will be useful.

The first night of class fell in the middle of a very hectic work week.  I had been looking forward to the break from too many late nights at the office and the chance to get back into a positive learning environment.  I was already having angst about how I would make the time for school given that work has been all-consuming since the first of the year, but about an hour into class I think I just went numb.  Four design solutions, two research projects, weekly blogs, and the “40% project.”  Don’t get me wrong — I LOVE my school work, and I am looking forward to each assignment.  My fear is that I won’t have the time that I want to put into the projects to get as much as I can out of them.  I hope once we get into the flow of things, it won’t seem so overwhelming, but I have to admit… I’m a little nervous!

“…hold on tight, cuz it’s gonna be wilder than any 8 second ride!”

ImagePhoto sourced from pbr.com

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2013 in ADLT 642

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Whoa, Nelly!

  1. lsniestrath

    January 21, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Wow! There’s no turning back now, is there? You are certainly in for quite the adventure. I’m glad that I held off on taking this class as I have not taken the Design and Delivery course. I think that it will help me to be successful when the course rolls around. I’ll give the links a good look and watch your blogs with interest. I’m taking a Coursera class at the end of the month from Georgia Tech regarding on-line instruction. I hope that it will provide me with a good foundation before Adlt 642.
    Good Luck!
    Laurie

     
    • Joanne Even

      January 21, 2013 at 5:45 pm

      Thanks for continuing to follow my blog, Laurie, and good luck with your Coursera course!

       
  2. Katherine

    January 21, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Thanks for the link to SAM, there seem to be so many different theories out there, whose linearity is a drawback. But the graphic representation of the SAM model is easy to understand and allows for looped processing while showing the overall linear progress of the model through time. Certainly shows good design when models can be represented clearly and concisely through graphics, at least in my opinion… I like it!

     
  3. Melissa

    January 21, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Joanne–

    I’m nervous too! Thank you for admitting it on your blog. 😉 I think we are all conscientious and hard working and have the same fears. I’m worried about time management already! I’m glad we’re in this together, though, because we can all help each other, as we have every semester.

    Thanks for linking to more info about SAM. I am realizing these graphics are doing nothing for me, I look at them and want to see something with paragraphs. UGH.

    I hope we can learn a bit more about corporate approaches too–I think it will make this education a little more well rounded, especially since the other classes in the program could really be applied to both higher ed and training.

     
  4. Joanne Even

    January 21, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    Melissa & Katherine, my sister has the Leaving ADDIE for SAM book… if she can find it, she’s going to send it to me. You can also download a PDF version of the book from the ASTD Store for about $40. That should give you some paragraphs, Melissa. 🙂

     
  5. boundlesscognizance

    January 21, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I am with you on being nervous about this course, but you know I have no doubt that you can do it!!!

     
  6. Lindsey

    January 21, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    The piece you included from the syllabus is a good summary of the CoI Model, don’t you think? Although we (I) cursed it at the time, I had no idea how much the teaching module we created in 640 would come into play as we moved through this track. I have a feeling we will reference it often as we explore more systematic design. I am also glad you mentioned the corporate environment because I want to know how ID applies to as many professional environments as possible!

     
    • Joanne Even

      January 21, 2013 at 8:50 pm

      YES! And I made a shameless plug on Katherine’s blog about our project from 640. So far, I’ve pulled out books and notes from Design & Delivery and from Groups & Teams. I think I’m going to need a bigger desk to tackle the assignments for this class.

       

Leave a comment