RSS

Neuroplasticity, Lifelong Learning, and Meditation

06 Nov

Just a quick follow up to my post from Sunday and the reference to neuroplasticity.  I created a playlist on YouTube to show you how neuroplasticity can lead to lifelong learning as well as how neuroplasticity can be enhanced through meditation.

The first video in the playlist (after my fun little intro slide which is, I guess you could say, my first original posting on YouTube!) is the one I stumbled across during my exploration of YouTube that got me thinking about neuroplasticity, a topic we’ve discussed in my meditation class.  That led me to wonder if there were any TED Talks about the topic, which of course there are.  Sara Lazar is a neuroscientist who discusses studies about exercising your brain and how meditation can slow down the natural loss of cognitive ability caused by aging. These studies are also referenced in the third video with Rick Hanson, also a neuroscientist and author of Buddha’s Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love and Wisdom.  The foreword to Buddha’s Brain was written by Dan Siegel, M.D., and in the next video in my playlist, Dr. Siegel gives a technical description of how the brain can rewire itself through experience.  He goes on to introduce his concept of mindsight, which is “focusing attention… harnessing the power of the mind… to change synaptic connections and… stimulate the growth of new neurons.”  The next video in my playlist offers a more detailed description of mindsight by Dr. Siegel.  And finally, the last video is… well no, I don’t want to spoil the ending for you.  Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2012 in ADLT 641

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Neuroplasticity, Lifelong Learning, and Meditation

  1. lsniestrath

    November 7, 2012 at 9:50 am

    This is an interesting collection of video clips. I have been interested in brain studies, gender brain issues and the concept of meditation for awhile now. Unfortunately, I sometimes find it difficult to meditate. I love the scene in “Eat, Pray, Love” where Julia Roberts is talking about how she can’t seem to stop thinking. She’s too interested in what her meditation room might look like. Daniel Amen is another individual whose life work is brain research. A funnier clip from “the View”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lcwCpdgkNE

     

Leave a Reply

 
