RSS

A Facelift and other Substantive Changes

30 Sep

This weekend, I decided to give my blog a facelift.  More than just an updated look, this change marks an important shift in my thinking about my blog.  Since my first post in January 2010, I have written my blog for me and me alone.  Even during those semesters when we were asked to comment on other students’ blogs, I never imagined as I was writing that the audience was anyone other than me.  But as I am now making a concerted effort to grow my personal learning network (PLN) and starting to feel as though I might have interesting things to add to the conversation, I hope that some in my PLN will find my blog and, dare I say, comment on a post or two!

In addition to the new visual theme, I’ve added a couple of pages.  One is “About me” which is a pretty standard kind of introduction about what I do and why I blog.  Hmmm… actually, it doesn’t say why I blog… mental note to make that edit soon. As I’ve been adding to my PLN and checking out interesting blogs, the about me page (or some variation of it) tends to be a page I look at to see what I can surmise about the author and his/her motivation for writing the blog.  I thought it only fair to offer the same consideration to anyone checking out my blog.

The other page I added was one I called “The best of…”, and it includes links to pinnacle writings from most of the classes I’ve taken in the M.Ed. program so far.  (I’m still working to find the right writings for some classes.)  These papers and projects demonstrate the breadth and depth of my thinking and include topics I’ve not covered in my blog. While it is true that part of the reason I added this page was because my blog is supposed to be an e-portfolio of all my work during the program, I must fess up to a more selfish (maybe even egotistical) reason, too.  I think they’re pretty damn good papers, and I would be tickled pink if somebody read them and thought so, too.

The final substantive change I made over the weekend was to change the website link listed on my Twitter account.  When I first established my presence on Twitter, I was out of work and not yet enrolled in this program, but I was a Board member of Southeastern Virginia Golden Retriever Rescue, Education, and Training, so I decided to give the rescue a plug and list that website.  Now that I’m using Twitter as a major avenue for building my PLN, I realize I need to give myself the shout-out instead.  Oh look, there I go being selfish again!  But a little self-promotion might be just what I need.

“To establish oneself in the world, one does all one can to seem established there already.”
François de La Rochefoucauld
French Essayist (1613 – 1680)

[Quotation sourced from quotes.dictionary.com]

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2012 in ADLT 641

 

Tags:

11 responses to “A Facelift and other Substantive Changes

  1. MelKoch

    October 1, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    I love your “facelift”! I think the organization is great and now I , too, want to make my blog easier to read. And I want to fill in my About Me!
    Self-promotion is absolutely necessary on the web, even though it sometimes feels kind of squicky.

     
    • Joanne Even

      October 1, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      Squicky? Is that squeemish and icky combined? Regarding my self promotion, my mom commented (in an email)… “just can’t take the marketing out of you!”

       
  2. MelKoch

    October 1, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    After I posted I was thinking about this some more and I we can really use our blogs and online projects in our future job searches. I know this is clear to you but it just dawned on me!

     
    • Joanne Even

      October 1, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      I actually have sent my blog link to a prospective employer already, although he never replied. But now with my spiffy new look, I need to find a reason for him to take a second look!

       
  3. Lindsey

    October 2, 2012 at 7:56 am

    I dig the new layout and concept behind it! At the beginning of 641 I also had the itch to revamp my writing space and added a “About Me” page but have yet to complete it (on my to-do list) 🙂 Maybe the prospect needs a reminder to check out a must read article relevant to his/her line of work which just happens to be included on your best of page??

     
    • Joanne Even

      October 2, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      Or maybe a new prospect will find something of interest on that page! I have the chance to start again in a new career, so I should cast my net wide, right?

       
  4. jshill2

    October 2, 2012 at 9:25 am

    Wow, this looks awesome! It’s super easy to read and really well organized. I am now inspired to do some maintenance on my own blog, especially with regards to tagging.

     
    • Joanne Even

      October 2, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      Thanks for the reminder to tag this post! After I refreshed my blog, I got inspired to update my Twitter profile page, too! (I tagged an article on Diigo with #adlt641 about the new options for that.) Now I believe my two pages look somewhat coordinated. Yes, that would be the marketing professional coming out in my again! Now, if only I could get so inspired about sprucing up my house!

       
  5. Wally Wallace

    October 7, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    I love your “new look”. I’ve been contemplating giving Wally’s World a new look but lack the time to devote to it right now. I appreciate the inspiration you offer here – the organization is especially nice and I really like “The Best of” aspect of your blog. Great job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
