RSS

When & Why I Started Tweeting

13 May

I created a Twitter account a couple years ago when I was out of work and looking to stay current on marketing trends.  While I was very open to joining LinkedIn, and I had finally seen the light about Facebook, I continued to resist joining Twitter.  According to the Twitter blog, “Twitter was originally conceived as a mobile status update service—an easy way to keep in touch with people in your life by sending and receiving short, frequent answers to one question, ‘What are you doing?’”  I felt certain that I was not that interesting that people would want to read about my every move.

Three years after their launch, Twitter realized that the status update service they’d created was being used in a broader way.  “People, organizations, and businesses quickly began leveraging the open nature of the network to share anything they wanted, completely ignoring the original question, seemingly on a quest to both ask and answer a different, more immediate question, ‘What’s happening?’”  While this seemed to me a more reasonable and meaningful question to answer, what finally spurred me to join this online community was not semantics but a promotion run by CarMax in which followers were instructed to retweet (Twitter speak for share) CarMax’s tweets for a chance to win a car.  WIIFM.  Smart move, CarMax.

My first tweet was in January 2010, and it said:

Sadly, I did not win the contest, and my two Golden Retrievers still squish in the back of my car.

But I had finally joined the ranks of Twitter.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2012 in ADLT 650

 

Leave a Reply

 
